Simply Me Just Be

here's to YOU, who You have become so far, and who You have yet to BE, Simply You Just BE!

I am not lucky, I am blessed … December 31, 2012

May you always be showered in blessings

 

“I am not lucky, I am blessed” …

 

What a Year this has been! More so recently, with all the negative news and events (specifically the loss of those who died on December 14th in Newtown) and all I can think about is how truly blessed we really are! What does that statement mean? Well … Luck had nothing to do with it. Many things happen in a life, decisions, choices, events, all of which bring with them certain lessons and sometimes even blessings. When I say that I am blessed, to me it means that I enjoy things in life that I never expected to have, or would not dare to take for granted. Blessings are also things that many never receive, yet they are a gift to you in your life and we do not realise that it is a blessing as we don’t know any different. The breath we are taking at this very moment is a gift …

 

“Our greatest blessing in life … is life itself”

 

I have already enjoyed 35 Years of life, when some don’t even get to embrace their very first Year.As I look back over the past Year, I have to admit that 2012 was probably one of my “best and worst”. It has been an incredibly hard Year, not just for me, but especially for the ones I love. My friends and family have had to deal with cancer, retrenchment, sick children, death of loved ones, financial losses and divorce to mention a few.

 

“What seems to us as bitter trials are often blessings in disguise.” – Oscar Wilde

 

I am Grateful for so much in my life

 

“There are so many things to be grateful for every single day”

 

If I could take away all the pain suffered by the ones I loved, I wouldn’t hesitate. It is a constant reminder to me of how many blessings I truly have, yet we generally remember the bad and forget the good. We never know how much time we may have, it could be a day, a month, a Year, a lifetime. Don’t lose focus of the things that matter in life. Enjoy each moment with your loved ones as if it was the last.

 

“We just have one life, keep it simple”

 

If it’s one lesson we have all learnt in 2012, it is definitely the fact that life is just way too short! Life is too short to argue and fight, so count your blessings, value your family and friends as you wish to be valued, move on from the things that are holding you back with your head held high and a smile on your face for everyone. I hope you are able to live your life for you, not the way others may expect or wish for you to live it. This is your life to live the way you see fit, so be grateful for it and start living!

 

 

Your blessing to others should be the love you can give them

 

“Your blessing to others should be the love you carry in your heart”.

 

As another Year ends and a New Year begins, this is my wish for you. I hope you never lose sight of the good and you find the strength to let go of the bad. May you treat your life as the gift it is and embrace the blessing of you. Always remember that you are a gift to this world, you are unique, you are special, and you have so much of yourself still to discover. May you enrich the lives of others with the love and compassion you hold within. I hope some, or even all of your dreams come true and your life is one you can be proud of. Never stop dreaming, hoping or believing! Whatever 2013 may bring, I wish you a year of happiness, let it be a Year filled with love, for a life without love is no life at all.

 

“Yesterday is already the past, embrace today as a new beginning, and tomorrow as a New Year filled with infinite possibilities”

 

To all the special people in my life, as we count our blessings and appreciate all we have, and who we have in our lives, I want you to know this … I am grateful for you and for our friendship. Enjoy this time with your loved ones, and may you look back over the past Year with gratitude and knowledge of lessons learnt. Be blessed, be happy, and know that what you have many pray for. Love, Laugh, and most importantly LIVE.

 

Love is the ultimate blessing

 

“Here’s to You and an amazing 2013, let it be your Year”

 

Happy New Year everyone! May you be showered in blessings, filled with joy and hope, ready to take on, and make this, one of the best Years yet! If you want to be happy, BE …

 

I absorb the energy and possibilities of each new day, acknowledge the simple beauty that can be taken for granted, and look forward to tomorrow’s new beginning.

 

 

 

Related articles

 

20 Responses to “I am not lucky, I am blessed …”

  1. StillValerie Says:

    Beautiful post to end off 2012. Thanks for the reminders – very helpful as I’m home with the flu. All the best for 2013!

  2. [...] I am not lucky, I am blessed … (simplymejustbe.wordpress.com) [...]

  3. supriya Says:

    Happy new year to you too dear. Once again a heart touching post really if we start seeing life as a gift we never take anyone & anything for granted.
    My fav. lines from your post are:
    “I am not lucky, I am blessed” …
    Don’t lose focus of the things that matter in life.
    “Yesterday is already the past, embrace today as a new beginning, and tomorrow as a New Year filled with infinite possibilities”
    Good bless u :)

  4. What a lovely post and blog! Thanks for the pingback ~ I am so glad we’ve connected! Happy 2013 to you ~ may you be showered with blessings this year!

  5. Love your post which reminds me of all the ways I’ve been blessed over the last year and to look forward to more blessings in 2013.
    So glad we are going to sharing this year together!
    Thank you so much for the link :)

    • Anonymous Says:

      Awesome stuff and all so true !!! May 2013 be all you wish for yourself and more… lol xx

    • Simply Me Says:

      As harsh as the reminders may be sometimes, I guess we really do need them, so easy to take what we become accustomed to for granted. Carolyn, may you be blessed as you bless others with your inspiration and strength, you truly are an incredible woman :) I’m grateful that we share this journey, and hopefully many years ahead.

  6. Loved every moment of reading this. Thank You!

    • Simply Me Says:

      No … Thank YOU :) Sue, you have given me so much inspiration over the past year, and I know there is so much more to come, I look forward to it! May you be blessed and enjoy the fruits of all your hard work in your mission to inspire and be a positive joy in the lives of others. :)

  7. quirkybooks Says:

    I am new to your blog but thoroughly enjoyed reading your post. You speak my language and have a similar mindset and I love that. I think sometimes it’s hard to let go of the bad because the person behind it you may care a lot about, even though they are no good for you.

    • Simply Me Says:

      I couldn’t agree more. I have recently had to let go of a few people in my life that I genuinely love, however, their journey and mine are two different paths and destinations, therefore, we are not meant to accompany each other, we were only meant to teach or learn a certain lesson. It was a painful one, but necessary, and I can only see that as a blessing. Thank you for taking the time to read the post and give me such awesome feedback :)

      • quirkybooks Says:

        You are welcome. I think sometimes you can get two people that are good in their own right but just not always good for each other and like you say, they can be travelling two very different paths and if either tried to walk down the other’s path, they just wouldn’t be being true to themselves. Thanks for sharing such wonderful insight.

  8. Desiray Says:

    For a Christian it is never about Luck and we should never say that word, We are bless people of the Most High God. Great post!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 844 other followers