Simply Me Just Be

here's to YOU, who You have become so far, and who You have yet to BE, Simply You Just BE!

That Someone is YOU … July 22, 2013

Filed under: Inspiration — Simply Me @ 15:09
Tags: , ,
That someone is you

Source: Google+

 

“I always wondered why somebody didn’t do something about that, then I realised that I am somebody” …

 

Lately, all I can think about, is the fact that there is seems to be no more accountability taken by anyone anymore. Blame seems to be easier than actual acknowledgement of our own individual responsibility for our actions, and the acceptance of certain circumstances around us. I was always a sucker for the underdog, and even at the risk of being targeted myself, I have always felt the need to speak out on behalf of others. But, I used to “cave” to “peer Pressure”, and worry about what others thought of me, which has silenced me on more than a few occasions. We are also taught that it is none of our business what happens elsewhere, it does not concern us. I happen to disagree!

 

“Speak out, even if your voice shakes”

 

I have grown up and learnt the hard way that you only get one opportunity at a time, and if it passes, you have no one to blame but yourself. I don’t want to be silenced by peer pressure, I want to help others, as I would wish them to help me should I ever need it. I want to speak out and make a stand. I was after all, born to stand out and I believe I am here to make a difference. I want to face my fears of ridicule and take a stand anyway. I want to give others something to think about in a positive light, I want to walk away from conversations, actions and circumstances that are only adding to the negative society we are fighting against. I can no longer pretend not to see the unethical, or the abusive, or the criminal, and not do something.

 

Source: Google+

Source: Google+

 

“We’re blaming society, yet we are society. So to make it a better place, we must change ourselves first.”

 

What we really need to start doing is acting on our beliefs, not restricting our beliefs by our inability to put that which we believe in, into action. Actions really do speak louder than words. Yes, people will treat you differently, they will look at you in a new way, they will comment behind your back, and they will exclude you from general day-to-day politics of the workplace and home life, but, isn’t that what we want anyway, to be left out of all of the negative nonsense. People have stopped talking about others so readily in front of me, and they don’t include me in the office banter that ridicules other colleagues, they know that I have now adopted a no-nonsense approach, and I just have to say, life is more pleasant that way. “Less words … More action” …

 

“Action without vision is only passing time, vision without action is merely day dreaming, but vision with action, can change the world” – Nelson Mandela

 

If ever there was an example of someone dedicated to changing mind-sets, making a difference, and being outspoken on the injustices that surrounded them, it is Madiba. The fact that Nelson Mandela celebrated his 95th birthday last week, really made me reflect on his life and the incredible journey that has changed and influenced so many millions of lives. This is one man who has actively taken a stand, spoken out, and brought the message home, he is an inspiration, an icon, and without people like Nelson Mandela, would we really see the world changing for the better? I want to be one of those people, I want to believe in others, fight for others, have hope and always look for the inner beauty and potential of every human life.

 

Source: Google+

Source: Google+

 

“Taking a stand sometimes means standing alone”

 

Each of us was brought into this world for a reason, and it is not our place to view another life as more, or less important than our own. Each of us is worthy of love, of being believed in and given the freedom and liberation to simply … BE. Discrimination is discrimination, you cannot sugar-coat that. Regardless of age, race, gender, religious belief, culture, education, appearance, sexual orientation, marital status, we are all equal, we all have basic fundamental human rights - A right that belongs justifiably to every person. Taking a stand for those rights starts with you. Believe in your own freedom, your right to equality, and to live your life … Your way.

 

“As we let our own lights shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” – Marianne Williamson

 

The next time you see someone abusing a child or an animal, say something. The next time you witness an unethical practice, say something. The next time you hear someone being discriminated against, say something Don’t think that someone else will do something about it, because THAT SOMEONE IS YOU!

 

Source: Google+

Source: Google+

 

 

6 Responses to “That Someone is YOU …”

  1. Inspiration is one of the many elements I take from this piece… You hit home and hard as well… which is so what we sometimes need to hear. If there is one thing I wish for today, it is that your message here will sprout in many others, making the change small, gradual, but very definite, growing into something big, noticeable and profound…

    • Simply Me Says:

      Thanks Ren, hopefully we can all start taking accountability for our part in society today. I truly believe that it starts with the decision to change ourselves and our environment for the better, the rest the falls into place. We may not see the changes today, or tomorrow, or even in our lifetime, but leading by example is the only real legacy we can leave behind that is worth anything :)

  2. This really hit home with me today! I’ve just taken a couple weeks offline to manage some family issues and it really has been a case of stop waiting or expecting others to take the lead or make amends,and do it myself! Great post!

  3. Fred Fox Says:

    “How wonderful it is, that nobody need wait a single minute before starting to improve the world.”
    Anne Frank


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 890 other followers