You are more than you can imagine …

 

You are worth so much more than you can ever imagine

Source – Google images

 

“You are more than you can imagine” …

 

I can’t believe that it has been literally 8 months since I’ve posted anything, it’s crazy how time flies and before you know it, another year is done. I have really missed my blog and the positive interaction it generates. The whole purpose of my blog is to focus on the positive in life and to hopefully help or inspire others by sharing parts of my life that have taught me lessons, and helped me grow as a person. It has been such a busy time lately and I think I lost sight of that. I have had my little girl, who is 9 months old Today, and I have changed jobs, as well as moved house, it’s all happening! I have 6 different drafts of posts I have tried to get to in the past few months, and yet, I am writing about something completely different Today … Over the past few months, I have realized more than ever that each and every one of us … IS MORE THAN WE CAN IMAGINE

 

It’s the little things that matter, the little things make the biggest difference in life. A kind word, gesture, or action can change someone’s path forever, YOU could be the one responsible for that change without even realizing it” …  

 

We speak to people in passing every day, whether it be a colleague, friend, family member, or random stranger, words are spoken in that moment that we sometimes never give a second thought to. That’s because we are not aware of the impact they may have had. We say things casually, sometimes with a point that we are not sure gets across, and sometimes just to plant a seed that we hope will grow, but overall, our general chit-chat is something we overlook. In changing my job recently, one of my colleagues came to chat to me before I left. She said she couldn’t let me go without telling me that I had helped change her life. She reminded me of a conversation we had more than three years ago, but to her, it made a difference, it had changed her path.

 

Source – Instagram

 

 “A kind gesture can reach a wound that only compassion can heal” – Steve Maraboli

 

I was working in HR at the time, and this colleague of mine had been brought in for a disciplinary meeting with her manager to address concerns that they had regarding performance at the time. I took one look at this girl, and realized that she has reached breaking point in her life, her personal life was falling apart, and this in turn was affecting her professional life. She didn’t want to discuss the issues, she just wanted to run, she wanted to resign from her job and give up, stop fighting and wait to see where her life would take her, she didn’t have any energy left and just couldn’t cope with all the demands on her. I sat her down and told her that she may not see a way out now, but she would look back in a few years time and regret her decision if she decided to give up now. I reminded her of what she had going for her, and the fact that she was doing so well in her role as well. I promised her that she would look back at this day and smile, that everything would work out as it was meant to and she just had to believe in herself. She left that day, and I honestly wasn’t sure if I would ever see her again.

 

“No matter how dark and long the tunnel may be, there is always light at the end of it” …

 

I moved out of HR, and into more of an operations role, and never kept tabs on the staff that I had been working with when I was managing HR. I did, however, notice that this girl in particular was one of the top performing staff members, and that she was continuously achieving “Agent of the month”, “Top Sales Agent of the month”, “Most improved Agent” and the list continues … I am so very proud of her decision to take control of her life and believe in herself and her ability to overcome the difficulties she faced in life. I am glad that I had some small part to play, even though it was only one conversation. I am surprised that I couldn’t remember our discussion until she reminded me of it three years later. She told me that I was right, she can look back and smile, and Today she realizes just how far she has come. I never knew that my words would stay with her. What I realized too was that this is also just confirmation for me of my own life changes. I feel that my purpose is to be there for others, to inspire, to be kind, to love and accept, and to be the change I want to see. I want to be more than I can imagine, I want to effect change for the better and be someone who is leading by example and making a positive difference.

 

Source - Pinterest

Source – Pinterest

 

“Our prime purpose in this life is to help others. And if you can’t help them, at least don’t hurt them” – Dali Lama

 

Never underestimate the difference YOU are making each and every day, you may never know it, but YOU are MORE than you imagine …

 

 

2 thoughts on “You are more than you can imagine …

  1. Carolyn Hughes says:

    Loved reading about the girl you had encouraged rather than reprimanded. Your caring insight clearly gave her motivation to turn things around. You made a difference 🙂

Leave a Reply

