If YOU want to be happy, BE …

I am not particularly one for New Year’s resolutions anymore, however, I am definitely well practiced at new beginnings. 2017, a Brand New Year … yet another new beginning. This Year it is all about making peace with the fact that my circumstances don’t need to change … I do. I can’t allow my circumstances to limit my view, and I can’t blame anyone for the circumstances I face either, as they are a direct result of the choices I have made. One of the best quotes I’ve read was one by Leo Tolstoy, and for me it is more of an impact statement that screams truth …

smjb-if-you-want-to-be-happy-be

 

If you want to be happy, BE – Leo Tolstoy

It may sound quite “cheesy” but it’s true, we will only ever be as happy as we allow ourselves to be. It is time to sit back and enjoy the view regardless of our circumstances. Every Year we say the same thing … “Please let this Year be better than last Year”. But the Year changes, and sometimes nothing else does. We need to realise that it is our mindset that makes all the difference to how we experience things. Each day we are given a fresh start, new opportunities, new experiences and ultimately, we just need to be open to them and celebrate the little things along the way. I should not allow my circumstances to define me, I would rather let my view change my circumstances. Life happens, things change for better or sometimes worse, and we have no control over anything except how we respond to it. I am typically a creature of habit and I think it’s time to stop my habitual thinking and start embracing a “new and improved” mentality.

I cannot control everything that comes into my life, but I can choose what I magnify – Steven Furtik

There has never been a better time to let go of everything we can’t control, it’s not like we can think and act on behalf of others anyway. What can become an issue is whether we are open to change, it is easy to get stuck in the cycle of routine thinking and negativity. I believe that a “clean state of mind” is better than any New Year’s resolution, because it comes down to a choice. You have the power to choose the direction of your thoughts, your day, your life … YOU and only YOU! My choices led me to this very moment, everything I am and everything I am experiencing is because of choice. The greater your purpose, the tougher it is, the more choices you need to make.

Hardships often prepare ordinary people for an extraordinary destiny – C.S Lewis

It starts with appreciation, being grateful for the gift of a brand new day. Saying thank you for the good experiences that bring us so much joy as well as the bad ones that challenge and strengthen us. Making choices that will bring us peace no matter how hard they are to make at the time. Usually it is the harder choices in life that are the right ones, but even the wrong choices lead us to where we are meant to go and help us become who we are destined to be. I don’t want to beat myself up anymore for the difficult times or not being perfect, I just want let go and choose each and every day and grow from strength to strength, in the faith that I am changing my view, my circumstances and my life for the better.

One thought on “If YOU want to be happy, BE …

  1. Heather says:

    My Chrissie….i have only just read this and it is just marvellous!! So true and so simple…but to put to practice isn’t!! It is a constant state of awareness…so I need to apply this in my life too!
    Well done on taking time out of your stressful, hectic days to impart your pearls of wisdom!!! xxxxx

Leave a Reply

